Seven Fort Bend ISD Graduates Named College-Sponsored Merit Scholarship Winners

Seven new Fort Bend ISD (FBISD) graduates are among 3,000 winners of 2016 College-Sponsored Merit Scholarships. United States college and university officials selected the winners from among the finalists in the 2016 National Merit Scholarship Program. The award provides between $500 and $2,000 annually for up to four years of undergraduate study at the institution financing the scholarship.

This year, 184 higher education institutions are underwriting Merit Scholarship awards through the National Merit Scholarship Program. Sponsor colleges and universities include 106 private and 78 public institutions located in 45 states and the District of Columbia. FBISD students earning 2016 College-Sponsored Merit Scholarships are:

• Austin High School – Madison McClendon, National Merit Baylor University Scholarship

• Clements High School – Andrew Tao, National Merit Trinity University Scholarship and Rohan Walawalkar, National Merit Trinity University Scholarship

• Dulles High School – Archibald Cruz, National Merit University of Houston Scholarship; Devon Kulhanek, National Merit Texas A&M University Scholarship and Doan Le, National Merit Texas A&M University Scholarship

• Travis High School – Premini Nagesh, National Merit University of Texas at Dallas Scholarship

These scholarship winners are a part of the distinguished group of about 7,500 high school seniors who will receive National Merit Scholarships for college undergraduate study worth approximately $33 million. An additional group of scholars will be announced this month, bringing the total number of recipients in the 2016 competition to approximately 4,000.